When Meat Eaters Go Bad

Despite being known as gentle and kind by anyone who has ever met me, In truth I harbor some pretty rigid opinions usually reserved to share with only a chosen few worthy souls. Opinions which may shock the faint of heart and do gooders of the world. For example this little opinion of mine which I have developed into a full-blown theory. My version of How the world should function, or rather, one aspect of it. Yes, If I was all powerful I would have taken all of the vegetarians of the world (excepting those who abstain for spiritual reasons) and I would have stuck them all on a small island with nothing but Thumpers and Bambies on it. Give em some Bowie knives and then see how long their resolve to be better than thou tree huggers lasts.

Yeah, I’m harsh I know. I blame this on my Russian heritage. Being raised at my grandpa’s knee on stories of what life was like in the ‘old country.’ Those where the days in which if one got caught stealing a loaf of bread, the punishment was to lose a hand. Ole Gramps never told me the whole story at that tender age completely neglecting to mention that the only reason someone would steal a loaf of bread in the ‘old country’ was because they were downright starving. But I think the point here is, solve problems quickly and with relevance. Fast forward to today. I bet if the punishment for committing a gun crime was to cut off a trigger finger, Heck, it would solve so many problems at once. Dont you agree? Think about it.

Oops, First day, first blog post and I’m already off topic.

If my words have not riled you up and caused you to leave this blog in anger, then Thank you for that. That background information had to be provided in order for what I’m about to say to have its impact. Having taken steps towards major change in my life, I must have knocked a screw loose for I did something I never would have foreseen in a million years.

I became a vegetarian one month ago.

How does someone like me become a vegetarian? Even I am stunned by this outcome. But some things are for certain.

1. vegetarian food is f*ing fantastic! I’m hooked.

2. I’m going to document my recipes and cooking adventures. (Some most of the ingredients are completely foreign to me. So this will be an adventure. I will be blunt for your pleasure.

3. I still dislike people of ANY belief system who try to shove their judgmental doctrine down someone elses throat. You wont catch me frowning evilly at a hunter or demanding special treatment with a restaraunt menu.

And Now for a completely unrelated strand. The album I have been listening to a lot lately is the soundtrack to the movie Once. Glen Hansard a young Irishman authored and sings the songs. Wow, he is good. Two songs how ever find themselves on repeat a lot. Such beautiful melody, words, and imagery I can’t get enough of them. The piano sounds like a gentle spring rain shower. The female harmony? Excellent!

and then this song also from the same album. Very powerfull, though some might think it depressing, it is really rather freeing.

4 thoughts on “When Meat Eaters Go Bad

Comment Love is better than butter!

