The Vegetarian Handbook Cookbook Review

This song has nothing to do with food, but hey, it’s a great song! If todays post proves to be too dry, well then just watch this lively vista-filled video instead. Take precautions if at work however: This song may make you want to do a jig on  top of your desk.

Vegetarians are statistically healthier than meat eaters, but logic demands certain deductions.

Mainly, that eating only vegetables does not by itself guarantee good health. I think it’s a safe bet to assume that the average vegetarian is just as ignorant of wise eating habits as their meat-eating counterparts definitely are. Yes there are healthy vegetarians in the world, but those whom I have met, at least in my corner of the world, seem to be the exception, not the norm.

A case in point: Even the organic vegetarian supermarkets dedicate many isles to the veg equivalent of junk food, tv dinners, and pre processed crap I wouldn’t eat unless I had no choice.

Its been my limited experience, not living in a large urban area, that many vegetarians are too thin, they have limp hair, look older than they really are, and catch colds all the time. For that matter, they all look like long distance hikers. Ever seen a long distance hiker?

ISBN 0-312-14441-5

Knowing my vegetable ignorance, I let the notion of becoming a vegetarian stew on the back burner. That is until an unexpected twist of fate put this book in my hand. It was just the thing I had need of. Written by two PHDs with things like Yale and Pratt Institute as credentials. These guys use Science and research. They use computers to analyze nutritional content and proteins, then combine ingredients according to those findings.

Reading this book gave me a lot of confidence and put some knowledge under my belt, as it is not meerly a cookbook, but a treatise in general with recipes at the end. It’s a must read for anyone thinking about making the change.

I give this book an A for its knowledge and a C for its bullshit. In the introduction (remember first impressions are everything) It cites many times, different articles from the public newspaper New York Times. That’s a big No No right there. Am I to assume that because a big newspaper company writes about something, that I should take its claims as fact? Utter bullshit.

Rule #1 Public opinion, and/or popular propaganda DO NOT mean Facts!

Next the book goes on to cite the American television show called 60 Minutes. Yes… of course 60 minutes is a reputable news reporting agency. They never EVER skew the facts. (sarcasm)

The book often goes into long lists of diseases, which is interesting the first couple of times it does so. But afterwards I found myself skipping without reading the paragraphs each time the book was about to launch into yet another disease list. I mean… I get it already! and fear tactics is a poor way to motivate somebody.

fortunately the rest of the book beyond the bullshit introduction is well sourced. I always respect an authors claim when it is followed up by words such as ‘Harvard study’ etc. Facts a person can trust as accurate representations and an outlet to verify them myself if I choose to.

This book has some fantastic meals in it, and some retarded doozies too.  I would capitalize in bold those last three words but they are already politically incorrect enough. So I’ll use a photo instead.

This is a 4 ounce potato. The Vegetarian handbook would have me  take a 3 ounce potato and cook it in my oven for 45 minutes at 400 degrees.  maybe you had to be there to appreciate the ridiculouseness of this step in a meal of veggies which are sauted in the end.  After having tried the meal, I drew a great big X over that recipe.

Or how about  brown rice and mango pudding? Sounds delicious. Go ahead and buy an organic mango, then cut off only a small fraction of the mango to use. Puree it with rice, .. and the result is Babyfood! How can they even put this in a book?

I will never understand why anyone would publish a cookbook that does not have photos of the finished product in it. ridiculous. But that’s were I come in.  This book is a good book, but it has no photos. And all its ingredients are listed by ounces instead of cups.

I will be changing that, and converting these recipes into more palatable forms if they suck, while giving measurements which are more convenient than having to weigh everything on a scale.

One thought on “The Vegetarian Handbook Cookbook Review

  1. Pingback: the cook(book)ing school: review of the vegetarian family cookbook by nava atlas | the cook(book)ing school

Comment Love is better than butter!

