Tofu Stir-Fry with Cashews

Tofu stir fry with cashews

This recipe comes via The Vegetarian Cookbook by Readers Digest  It is SO yummy and delicious that your dinner mates may start eyeing your plate as well as their own. And when you see them eyeing your plate, it’s just a natural reaction to let out a feral growl and gulp faster. Think I’m kidding? Try this dish, and see.

First the marinade.

Here I have doubled the amounts indicated by the book. It just tastes better with more juice, or so I think, having made this several times already.

marinade

4 cloves minced Garlic minced NOT crushed
3 Tablespoons Tamari
4 Tablespoons Sherry (but a good White Wine will also impart a completely different flavor, which is just as yummy)
3 Teaspoons sesame Oil (I used dark)
2 Teaspoons Brown Sugar
6 or so ground Peppercorns

yeah, I cooked with this... so what?

yeah, I cooked with this... so what?

Mix all marinade ingredients together in a big bowl.  Next, Take  1 block of Firm Tofu, drain and cube it then place the Tofu cubes into the marinade and ignore it while you get the rest of the veggies prepped.

stuff to stir fry

In prep bowl #1 put in:

1/2 inch piece of Fresh Ginger peeled and finely chopped.
1 Cup of Sugar Snap Peas with the stems trimmed.
4 ounces (that’s about 11 or 12 medium-sized) fresh shiitake Mushrooms. Sliced thin. Many people throw out shiitake stems. But at $9.99 a pound, I prefer to eat them. Just slice them very thin and they are edible.

In prep bowl #2 put in:

1 large Red or Yellow Pepper. Sliced very thin. Set this bowl aside also next to the cook stove.

In prep bowl #3 put in:

12 ounces of Nappa Cabbage ( that’s about 10 or 11 medium-sized leaves.) Stack the leaves then slice them into 1/2 inch wide slices.
1 bunch of Scallions thinly sliced. Set prep bowl #3 down beside the cook stove.

In prep bowl #4 put in:

2/3 cup Raw Organic Cashews.  (Or roasted if you prefer)

Next comes the Chinese egg noodles. You can buy them from the refrigerated section of any Asian store.  This recipe calls for 12 ounces of noodle, but weights hardly matter on this issue. Just make as much noodle as you think you want. If you got your noodles from the refrigerated section of the store, this means they are freshly made and do NOT need to be boiled like spaghetti. I put on a kettle of water in my tea-pot. When the tea kettle whistles, I pour the hot water over my noodles and let them sit while I cook the rest of the meal.

soaking egg noodles in hot water

Time to criticize the cook book. 

They list the first step in their book as this: Preheat oven to 250 and boil a kettle of water. Yup! That’s it. They make NO mention of WHY someone needs to do this. When I followed the recipe the first time, I had a kettle of boiling water and no clue why, and I had an empty oven just wasting my propane for the entire time I did my prep work. nonsense!! Suffice it to say, that the Tofu will get cooked first. So at some point you may wish to turn on the oven to keep the Tofu warm while the rest of the meal gets cooked.

Now the prep work is done. Take the Tofu out of the marinade and put it in its own bowl. Set the marinade aside.

Now get cooking!

browning marinated tofu

Grab your Wok and get it nice and hot. Then when its nice and hot, add 1 Tablespoon of Peanut Oil. Stir fry the Tofu for about 3 minutes or until lightly browned. Afterwards REMOVE the Tofu and put it someplace it will keep warm.

cooking prep bowl #1

add 2 more Tablespoons of Peanut Oil into your sizzling hot empty Wok. Now dump in prep bowl #1 (the one with the Snap Peas)  Stir Fry for about 2 minutes. Then,

cooking prep bowl #2

dump in prep bowl #2 (the red pepper) and Stir Fry for two more minutes. Then,

adding and cooking prep bowl #3

dump in prep bowl #3 ( the cabbage) cook for two more minutes. Then,

dump in the marinade the Tofu soaked in and add the Cashews. Stir till hot. Remove from heat. Add the Tofu into the mix and gently stir.

Serve over noodles.

ready for serving

Yum!

*note* my cooking time is about 10 minutes but if not using a very thin wok, the cooking time may need to be increased. The veggies should not be completely raw when all is said and done.

 Now that my first recipe post is done, all I can say is PHEW! I had no idea how much organization would be required to take photos of a cooking process. My hat is off to all recipe bloggers everywhere. I had no idea! BUT I still love this blog and have big plans for it. Apologies for not posting more often. I promise to come back again, if you do. There are so many pieces of future posts waiting for assembly on my desktop.  I did not give an ingredients list in any traditional sense. Did it carry over well, do you think?

This Zen Maiden is open to suggestions regarding writing style.

3 thoughts on “Tofu Stir-Fry with Cashews

  1. Pingback: The Vegetarian Cookbook by Readers Digest – cookbook review | Barefoot in the Kitchen

Comment Love is better than butter!

